Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Installing Code42 CrashPlan, requires a CrashPlan account, and the ability to download and install software onto the computer you want to back up. See the CrashPlan service page or your Computing Consultant for more information. Once you have that account, follow the instructions below to download and install the current version of the Code42 CrashPlan client program for use at Lehigh. (Note: click on the pictures to see an enlarged view).


1.  After you've been notified that your CrashPlan account has been provisioned, log into the computer you wish to back up with an administrative account, and visit http://go.lehigh.edu/crashplan in a new web browser window.

2.  At the CrashPlan web page, log in with your Lehigh username and password.

3.  In the Dashboard window, click on the 'App Downloads' link.

4.  Click the small 'down arrow' icon in the Download Apps column in the row corresponding with your OS.

crashplan download apps buttons

5.  Once the download is finished, double-click on it to run the client installer program.

downloads folders


6.  Follow the prompts from the installer program, clicking 'Next' at each screen, accepting the default choices for all settings, and finally, 'Install'.  

7.  If your operating system requests authorization to make changes, allow them.  When complete, you should arrive at the last screen, and click 'Finish'.

8.  Start the CrashPlan program by choosing it from the Start Menu or double-clicking it in the Applications folder, and log in with your Lehigh username and password.  For the 'Server Address', enter 'crashplan.cc.lehigh.edu'.

9.  On it's first start, Crashplan needs to determine if this is a computer for which you already have an existing backup archive (from which you want to restore files), or if you want to start a new archive. 

If you have re-installed the OS and CrashPlan onto a computer that has been backed up before (installed a new hard drive, etc.), click 'Replace Existing'. (And jump to step 12)

If this machine has never been backed up before, click 'Add a New Device'. (and move to step 10)

Since users often find this confusing, Crashplan asks again to be sure.  If you really want to create a new device archive, click 'Yes'.

10.  Once you've selected your archive or created a new one, you'll end up at the main CrashPlan screen.  Notice that it will immediately begin the backup process, and create a catalog of files that need to be backed up, and start sending them to the backup destination.

If you've started a new archive (this is a new device), the default selection of files to back up will only include the user profile folder of the installing user.  (c;\Users\<accountname>). 

If you'd like to backup the files of other users on this machine, or additional files, click on 'Manage Files'

11.  The Manage Files window shows the current selection of files that you're backing up from your computer.  The line at the top of the list shows the directory position.  You can click on directories there (like 'c:') to see the selection status of their contents.

The column of check boxes indicate whether the listed file or directory is selected for backup.  A '-' (minus) sign indicates that some of the files in the directory are being backed up, while a check mark indicates that _all_ of the files in that directory will be backed up.  In the second frame of the example, the whole 'Users' directory has been selected for backup, so that all users' files will be backed up.

If you make any changes, be sure to click the 'Save' button.

Note:  If you remove a file or directory from the backup selection, any existing backups of that file will be removed from your backup archive immediately.  Be very careful when selecting your 

12.  If you're re-installing Crashplan to recover files, on the first run of the program, after you select 'Replace Existing', you'll need to select which device archive you're going to use for this installation.  The list will show the names of backup archives (usually named after machines).  Select one of these, and you'll proceed to the Main window as shown in step 10.


  • No labels